Sign of the Times 


What is it with the holidays and white Priuses?

Two years in a row and it has never failed. It felt like the gods are mocking me, making me think that everything’s gone to pass, and that I have completely exonerated it out of my system, and yet…

And yet.

Last year during Christmas eve I was running errands, on some last minute shopping spree when I pulled into the parking lot of the mall. And since it’s Christmastime, Mariah Carey was singing (or was it wailing?) “All I Want for Christmas is You” on the background. And everything seemed amiss until I pulled into the first empty spot that I saw. And of course, of all the cars that can be parked next to me, it happened to be a damned white Prius. 

I mean seriously? Seriously?! I remember chiding the Universe that it was not subtle. Rolling my eyes, shaking my head, and thinking, “Definitely NOT what I want for Christmas!” All I wanted was peace of mind and a very expensive purse. I got one of the two.

Fast forward to this year’s Thanksgiving. I was driving to work along Hostetter Road and was coming onto a stop at a red light. I was listening to 99.7’s Fernando and Greg in the morning and this time, the Biebs was on with “Sorry“. And what do you know, once he got to the chorus, a freakin’ white Prius rolled in next to me. 

This time I had to laugh at the Universe’s not so subtle subtleties. I got to work and told Momo and even she was laughing and making fun of me at the same time, of course. 

Maybe the Universe IS trying to tell you something“, she said. 

Aaaaaand that would be?….” I countered.

Um, that he’s sorry?” She replied with a smirk.

Smartass, I thought. And to add insult to injury, my clinic director was interviewing a potential aide and was introducing him to the staff. I’ll give you three guesses to what his name was.

Yeah. All in the same day.

Winner, winner, chicken dinner!

And Momo started singing “Babalik kang muli…..”

But here’s the thing. I do not believe in signs anymore. I do not look for it (even though it seemed to have the penchant to look for me), nor presume to know what it means. Or whatever it holds for me.

I used to, though. 

These past couple of years taught me to believe in myself and love myself the way I deserve to be loved. That being alone does not equate to being lonely. That traveling can be a balm that can soothe a tired soul, and at the same time, a spark to ignite new possibilities.

It made me realize that hey, everything’s alright. I do not need to look for the signs. I just need to continue to go on living the best life that I can live.

And that is enough.
xoxo

Leave a comment